HKU Awards

The nominees for the HKU Awards 2023 have been announced! The awards for the best graduation projects will be presented during the opening of the academic year 2023/2024, in TivoliVredenburg on 21 September.

HKU Awards

Each year, HKU gives out three awards to students who graduated that academic year at a bachelor’s or master’s course of HKU. These so-called HKU Awards come with a financial gift of € 5000,-.

The HKU awards cover a broad scale of disciplines, such as fine art, design, music, theatre, film, games, and new media. The nominees are carefully selected and assessed by an independent jury of renowned professionals and experts from the world of art. They evaluate the works on the basis of innovation, entrepreneurship and artistic quality.

HKU Prize of Utrecht City

Among the nominated students, the jury also selects a winner for the HKU Prize of Utrecht City. This prize, also worth € 5000,-, emphasises the importance of art and culture for the city of Utrecht and its inhabitants, and promotes the cultural diversity and creative development of Utrecht. The jury will judge the works mainly on the social impact of the graduation work.


The next ceremony of the HKU Awards and the HKU Prize of Utrecht City will happen on Thursday 21 September 2023 in TivoliVredenburg, during HKU’s festive opening of the new academic year.

Members of the Jury

Ralph Keuning, art historian
Femke Rotteveel (jury chair), director of Fotodok
Xavier Vandamme, director of Oude Muziek
Eppo van Nispen tot Sevenaer, director of Beeld en Geluid
Kevin Osepa, photographer and film maker
Kika Sprangers, saxophonist
Margriet Vollenberg, director of Organisation in Design

The nominated students for the HKU Awards 2023 are:

Hannah Konings (Fine Art)
Rië Tobori (Fine Art and Design in Education)
Meshkat Talebi i.s.m. Olivier Terpstra (Master Fine Art)
Jurriaan van Berkel (master Crossover Creativity)
Felice Pekelder (Design for Change and Innovation)
Anne Stoop (master Crossover Creativity)
Anna Vroegindeweij (Product Design)
Mathilde Hanneuse (Product Design)
Berber Struiksma (Fashion Design)
Babet Lubbersen (Product Design)
Zjacky van Bebber (Game Art)
Machiel Kapiteijn (Interaction Design)
Tatum van Trier & Cameron Deighton (Game Art)
Nelleke Grimberg (Art & Economics)
Lara de Moor (Art & Economics)
Lisa Sprenkels (Art & Economics)
Shahab Albonaser (Audiovisual Media)
Nonna Hoogland (Illustration)
Madelief Kok (Graphic Design)
Nolli Morrison (Photography)
Niels van der Veen (Animation)
Marijn Cinjee (Master of Music)
Abe Iping (Composition Electronic Music)
Elmer Makkinga (Composition Electronic Music)
Daan Vollinga (Composition for the Media)
Simon Michels (Interactive Performance Design)
Roos Rijnbeek (Theatre in Education)
Anna Zorzi (Master Scenography)
Laura de Bruijn (Jazz & Pop)
Mees Siderius (Musician 3.0)
Francisca Snip (Music in Education)

The winners of the HKU Awards 2022